San José amongst 29 municipalities to enforce “dry law” this week


April 14th, 2014 ( San José will be amongst the 29 municipalities that will suspend alcohol sales on Holy Thursday and Good Friday this week.


Other cantons where alcohol sales will be prohibited are Puriscal, Alajuelita, Moravia, Cartago, La Union, Alvarado, Oreamuno, El Guarco, Santa Barbara, Esparza, Montes de Oro, Atenas, Turrubares, Montes de Oca, Palmares, Jimenez, Poas, and Acosta, amongst others.


However, most of those looking to imbibe during the holidays – whether in the Central Valley or at the beach – won’t have to drive far.


The cantons which have decided against the “dry law” this year include Santa Ana, Escazú, Desamparados, Curridabat, Tibás, Alajuela, León Cortés, Los Chiles, Hojancha, Golfito, Tilarán, Aguirre, Talamanca, Pococí, Corredores, Matina, Guácimo, Sarapiqui, Santa Cruz, Nicoya, Nandayure, Puntarenas, Buenos Aires, Osa, Limón, Abangares and Liberia, amongst others.


Just be sure to not over-indulge and get behind the wheel.  Authorities are deploying hundreds of extra police to catch drunk drivers this week.

costa rica news

ATTENTION: If you are seeing this message,

More of today’s stories

    • roberto

      Pura Birra !!!

    • disgusted

      One of the biggest jokes here in Costa Rica… This dog and pony show goes on every year. There more beer sold during this time( just ask Florida Ice) plus this year those who got paid on the 15th are well stocked up.

      • roberto

        The Catholic church probably has ALOT of F-I-F stock…LOL. More smoke & mirrors for the masses.